BCCI Announced Squad For The T20 World Cup 2021

BCCI announced their 15 men squad for the upcoming 2021 T20 World Cup in UAE and Oman which will start from October on Wednesday. Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary Jay Shah and selection committee chairman Chetan Sharma announced the Indian contingent for the 2021 T20 World Cup. 

The selection of Ravichandran Ashwin and the exclusion of the likes of Shikhar Dhawan and Yuzvendra Chahal have surprised the fans. Ashwin played his last T20I against West Indies in July 2017. Despite performing well in the recent T20I and ODI series against Sri Lanka, Chahal has been ignored. Middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer has also missed the bus due to injury and staying out of action for more than 4 months. Dhawan has been axed due to his poor form in recent times. 

Jay Shah has revealed that MS Dhoni will work closely as a mentor with head coach Ravi Shastri to look after the player during the T20 World Cup.

Three players will be traveling as reserve to UAE- Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Shardul Thakur. 

Team India will start their journey with the match against Pakistan on 24th October at Dubai International Stadium. As a part of group B, they will play matches against New Zealand and Afghanistan on 31st October and 3rd November apiece. In the next two matches on 5th November and 8th November, India will fare with qualifiers (B1) & (A2) respectively. 

India’s Squad

Virat Kohli ©, Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Chahar, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, and Jasprit Bumrah. 
Reserve Players- Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: