What is the Big Bash League?

Like Indian franchise league IPL (Indian Premier League) Australian professional Franchise T20 league is called Big Bash League, which was started in 2011. 

How many teams are in Big Bash League?

There are eight teams in Big Bash League- Adelaide strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, and Melbourne Stars.

What are the Big Bash League, teams-2020 squads?

Adelaide Strikers–  Travis Head (captain), Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Danny Briggs, Harry Conway, Spencer Johnson, Michael Naser, Harry Nielsen, Liam O’Connor, Rashid Khan, Matt Renshaw, Phil Salt, Liam Scott, Matthew Short, Peter Siddle, Cameron Valente, Jake Weathered, Jonathan Wells and Daniel Worrall.

Perth Scorchers– Jason Roy, Liam Livingstone, Kurtis Patterson, Mitchell Marsh ©, Ashton Turner, Colin Munro, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Jhye Richardson, Cameron Bancroft, Josh Inglis, Sam Whiteman, Joe Clarke, Aaron Hardie, Fawad Ahmed, Cameron Gannon, Jason Behrendorff, Matthew Kelly, Joel Parris, Andrew Tye.

Hobart Hurricanes–  D’arcy Short, Dawid Malan, Colin Ingram, Tim David, Caleb Jewell, Charlie Wakim, Macalister Wright, Mitchell Owen, Will Jacks, James Faulkner, Keemo Paul, Johan Botha, Matthew Wade, Jake Doran, Peter Handscomb, Ben McDermott, Tim Paine, Scott Boland, Nathan Ellis, Riley Meredith, David Moody, Wil Parker, Sandeep Lamichhane, Nick Winter and Jarrod Freeman.

Brisbane Heat–  Xavier Bartlett, James Bazley, Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Tom Cooper, Sam Heazlett, Lewis Gregory, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Dan Lawrence , Ben Laughlin, Chris Lynn, Morne Morkel, Jimmy Peirson, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson, Mujeeb Ur Rahman , Jack Wildermuth, Matt Willans, Simon Milenko , Lachy Pfeffer , Jack Wood

Melbourne stars– Glenn Maxwell (c), Hilton Cartwright, Jackson Coleman, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Liam Hatcher, Clint Hinchliffe, Nick Larkin, Nic Maddinson, Lance Morris, Tom O’Connell, Will Pucovski, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa,Andre Fletcher, Dilbar Hussain,  Zahir Khan, Nicholas Pooran. 

Melbourne Renegades– Aaron Finch (c), Cameron Boyce, Zak Evans, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Sam Harper, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Jon Holland, Josh Lalor, Shaun Marsh, James Pattinson, Mitch Perry, Jack Prestwidge, Kane Richardson, Will Sutherland, Beau Webster,  Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Nabi, Rilee Rossouw, Imran Tahir, Imad Wasim.

Sydney Sixers– Justin Avedano, Dan Christian, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Moises Henriques (c), Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, Ben Manenti, Lawrence Neil-Smith, Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe (wk), Llyod Pope, Tom Rogers, Gurinder Sandhu, Jordan Silk, Carlos Braithwaite, Jason Holder, James Vince.

Sydney Thunder– Callum Ferguson (c), Jonathan Cook, Ben Cutting, Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matt Gilkes, Chris Green, Baxter Holt, Usman Khawaja, Nathan McAndrew, Arjun Nair, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Tremain,  Sam Billings, Alex Hales, Adam Milne.

What is the KFC Big Bash League schedule for 2020?

This is the full schedule for BBL 2020.

big bash league schedule

What new rules have been introduced in BBL?

Total of three rules have been introduced in BBL 2020. 

X-Factor-  in this rule the captain has an option to substitute a playing xi player with the 12th or 13th man at the midway of the match (10th).

But the playing 11 player has to bat or bowl 1 over or less.

Power Surge- this rule segregates the 6 over powerplay into two parts (4 and 2). The first powerplay has to be completed in the first 4 overs and the second powerplay can be chosen by the batting team any time from the 11th over. 

Bash Boost- generally a team will get 3 points for every win but they can get an additional point. The point can be gained in the halfway of second innings if the batting team has equal runs as the fielding team at the end of the 10th over then they will get the point otherwise the bowling team will get the point. 

Which company has the right to Title sponsor of Big Bash League?

KFC has the title sponsor right of the Big Bash League.

Which Team has won the Big Bash title most number of times?

Perth Scorchers has won the Big Bash League thrice (2013-14,2014-15,2016-17).

Which channel Broadcasts the BBL in India?

Sony ESPN  broadcasts the BBL in India.

Who has taken the most number of wickets in BBL so far?

Ben Laughlin has taken the most number of wickets (110) in BBL so far in 88 matches. 

Who has scored the most number of runs in BBL so far?

Chris Lynn has scored the most number of runs (2682) in 75 innings so far.

What are the venues of BBL?

BBL is mainly played in eight venues – Adelaide Oval (Adelaide Strikers), Blundstone Arena (Hobart Hurricanes), Marvel Stadium (Melbourne Renegades), Optus stadium (Perth Scorchers), Brisbane Cricket Stadium (Brisbane heat), Melbourne Cricket Ground (Melbourne stars), Sydney Showground Stadium (Sydney Thunder) and Sydney cricket Ground (Sydney Sixers).

Which team has played the most numbers of finals in BBL so far?

Perth Scorchers has played the finals five times in BBL so far (2011-12,2012-13, 2013-14,2014-15, 2016-17) and 3 out of 5 times they have won the title.

Which player has the highest batting average in Big Bash League so far?

D’arcy Short has the highest batting average (46.42) in Big Bash League so far.

Who has scored the highest run in an innings of BBL till now?

Marcus Stoinis (starts) has scored 147* in 2012 against Sydney sixers, which is still a record. 

Who has smashed the most number of sixes in BBL till now?

Chris Lynn (146) has the most number of sixes in BBL till now.

Which bowler has the best economy rate in Big Bash League so far?

Lasith Malinga (Melbourne stars) has the best economy rate (5.40) in BBL so far.

Which bowler has the best bowling figure in BBL till now?

Lasith Malinga has the best bowling figure (6/7 vs Perth Scorchers in 2012)in BBL till now.

Which team has the highest score in an innings in BBL so far?

Hobart Hurricanes (223-8) has the highest score in BBL till now, which they made against Melbourne Renegades in 2017.

Which team has the lowest score in an innings in BBL till now?

Melbourne Renegades (57)  has the lowest score in BBL so far which they scored against Melbourne Stars in 2015. 

How much money does a champion team get in BBL?

A champion team gets USD 450000 in BBL.

Who is the most expensive player in BBL so far?

D’arcy Short is the most expensive player so far in BBL, Hobart Hurricanes paid US$258900 in the 2018-19 season.

Are there any Indian players in the Big Bash League?

BCCI doesn’t allow any Indian player to participate in any foreign franchise league. In 2019 Yuvraj Singh was allowed for Global T20 Canada and Pravin Tambe played in Caribbean Premier League in 2020. And currently retired players Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, and Sudip Tyagi are playing in Lanka Premier League.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: