England Tour & World Test Championship

India Announced Team For World Test Championship and England Tour- Jadeja, Shami and Vihari Returned To The Side

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the team for the World Test Championship and India tour of England 2021. The final of the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship will be held on June 18-22 and just after the WTC final the test series between England and India will take off. BCCI has disclosed the names of 20 players and 4 standby players for the UK tour. Hanuma Vihari, Shami, and Ravindra Jadeja have returned to the national side after being injured during the test series against Australia in 2020-21. 

Indian Squad

Virat Kohli ©, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Mayank Agarwal, Ravi Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness), and Wriddhiman Saha (subject to fitness). 

Standby Players- Avesh Khan, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, and Arzan Nagwaswalla. 

Who is Arzan Nagwaswalla and Abhimanyu Easwaran? 

Arzan Nagwaswalla plays for Gujarat in domestic cricket. He has been playing first class cricket since 2018. In 16 first class matches, he has bagged 62 wickets with an excellent average of 22.5. It’s a surprise call up for the left-arm seamer. 

Abhimanyu Easwaran has been representing Bengal since 2013 in domestic cricket. Easwaran has amassed 4401 runs in 64 first class matches with a bewitching average of 43.6. Abhimanyu has played for India A also. 

Match Schedule

Date Match Venue 
18th-22nd JuneWTC final IND vs NZSouthampton  
4th-8th AugustINDIA VS ENGLANDNottingham 
12th-16th AugustINDIA VS ENGLANDLord’s, London
2nd-6th SeptemberINDIA VS ENGLANDOval, London
10th-14th September INDIA VS ENGLANDManchester

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: