Site icon

Most Wins As Captain In IPL

Most Wins In IPL As Captain

Former Indian and Chennai Super Kings’s captain MS Dhoni has played the most number of matches 191 as a captain and has won 112 matches with a win percentage of 58.94. Under Dhoni’s leadership, CSK has worn the crown thrice (2010,2011 & 2018). CSK has played 11 play-offs with the help of an amazing captainship by MS Dhoni. So Dhoni has the most wins as captain in IPL.

The captain plays a very important role in every match in cricket. A captain’s decision can make and break a match. The captain takes many decisions like bowling changes, fielding changes, batting position set, deciding batting or fielding after the toss, etc. A good skipper always takes the blame on him after losing a game and always credits his teammates after winning a match. And selecting a precise playing 11 by recognizing the good players is also his job. In IPL we have seen many captains but very few could make a mark at the top positions. 

Gautam Gambhir has played as a captain 129 times and has taken his team home 71 times with an impressive win percentage of 55.42. KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) has worn the crown of IPL two times (2012 &2014) during Gambhir’s captaincy. KKR couldn’t win the trophy for 4 years but at last Gambhir’s leadership made a difference and they conquered it for the first time in 2012.

In terms of matches, RCB and current Indian team captain Virat Kohli has led RCB in 128 matches and won 58 matches (47.98). But unfortunately, Royal Challengers Bangalore is yet to be the champion of the IPL. The most premium batting lineup in IPL has not been lucky yet. 

The most successful Captain of IPL has been Rohit Sharma. He has led Mumbai Indians 119 matches and has enjoyed victory in 70 matches. Rohit’s win percentage is the highest (60.50) among captains. Mumbai Indian’s became champion for the first time in 2013 and after that, they won it 4 more times (2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020). Fans were aware that Rohit is a destructive opener but later he demonstrated his incredible captaincy skills and became the best captain of IPL. 

Adam Gilchrist has won the 5th most number of matches (35) as a captain in 74 matches. His win percentage (47.29) is commendable. In the 2nd IPL season, Gilchrist led his Deccan Chargers to wear the crown.

David Warner has a win percentage of 52.27 in IPL for Sunrisers Hyderabad as he has won 34 matches out of 66 matches. He has always led from the front and made the team champion in 2016. 

Shane Warne is the first captain to win the IPL in 2008. For Rajasthan Royals, he has won 30 matches out of 55. 

Let’s have a look at the list of Most Wins as Captain In IPL

Captain Matches Wins LossDraw No Results Win Percentage 
MS Dhoni191112780158.94
Gautam Gambhir 12971571055.42
Virat Kohli12858633447.98
Rohit Sharma11970454060.50
Adam Gilchrist7435390047.29
David Warner 6634311052.27
Shane Warne 5530241055.45
Virender Sehwag5328241053.77
Sachin Tendulkar5130210058.82
Rahul Dravid4822260045.83
Who has won the most games in IPL as captain?

MS Dhoni has won the most games in IPL as captain, with 112 wins.

How many matches Virat Kohli has won in IPL as captain?

Virat Kohli has won 58 matches as captain in IPL.

Exit mobile version