Site icon

Pakistan’s Squad For The 2021 T20 World Cup

In the 7th Edition of the T20 World Cup, Pakistan will start its campaign with the clash against India on 24th October. They are in Group B in the much-awaited tournament with New Zealand, Afghanistan, and India. On 4th September Pakistan picked up their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup and a few surprising names like Usman Qadir, Khusdil Shah but experienced players like Wahab Riaz, and Shoaib Malik were left out. 

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad 2021

But Pakistan Cricket Board revised the T20 unit on 8th October after seeing the performance of the players in the National T20 Cup prior to the 2021 T20 World Cup. Experienced campaigner Shoaib Malik replaced injured Shoaib Maqsood in the side post amassing 225 runs in 7 games in the tournament. To date, Malik has been a part of the Pakistani T20 squad in every edition of the T20 World Cup.

The 2017 Champions Trophy-winning captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has come in place of Azam Khan, while youngster Haider Ali has taken Muhammad Husnain’s berth in the squad. Swashbuckling opener Fakhar Zaman has been given a place on the national side considering his experience in mind, which has pushed Khusdil Shah into the reserve compartment.

The last time Pakistan won the T20 World Cup was in 2009 under skipper Younis Khan’s captaincy. Can captain Babar Azam turn the table around this time? More than that, the neighbor has never beaten India in a world cup, so everyone’s eyes will be on the biggest match of this year between India and Pakistan. 

Pakistan cricket has been phenomenal in their last few T20 series. They have won 4 series out of 5 in recent times. Wicket-keeper batsman, Mohammad Rizwan, and captain Babar Azam are two top run-getters in 2021 in T20Is, amassing 752 and 523 runs in 14 innings apiece. 

While with the ball, Hasan Ali has picked up the most wickets for the country in 2021, 17 wickets in 12 matches. 

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad 2021

Pakistan Squad For T20 World Cup are as follows:

Babar Azam ©, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammed Hafeez, Sohaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Haris Rauf, Haider Ali, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, and Mohammad Wasim Jr.

Reserves– Khusdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir. 

Exit mobile version