Interesting Facts About IPL

The BCCI founded the IPL with the purpose of stopping ICL organized by ZEE Entertainment Enterprises, which got started in 2007. Contemporary BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi was the man behind the birth of IPL after India’s 2007 T20 World Cup victory.

Back in 1995, the planner of IPL, Lalit Modi proposed an idea of a 50 over format competition, but the officials of BCCI rejected it. Just think, what would happen if IPL was a 50 over format. There would be less matches and less entertainment compared to the T20 format.

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders faced each other in the first-ever match of the IPL. KKR won the first match of the IPL by 140 runs.

1. There is one question that arises in the mind of cricket fans: Who faced the first ball of the IPL? The answer is Sourav Ganguly.

Praveen Kumar bowled the maiden ball of the IPL.

1. The first wicket-taker of the IPL is Zaheer Khan, he dismissed Sourav Ganguly in the first match of the 2008 IPL.

1. Former Kiwi wicket-keeper batsman, Brendon McCullum has hit the first six and four of the money-making league, it was Zaheer Khan who conceded the boundaries.

1. Rajasthan Royals wore the 1st crown of IPL, Australian legend Shane Warne led his team to victory.

1. Fans from across the globe follow the marquee Indian tournament, they must be wondering about the first Orange Cap winner of IPL, the player who makes the most runs, wins it. Aussie opener Shaun Marsh was the highest run-scorer in the inaugural edition with 616 runs in 11 innings.

1. If we talk about the 1st purple cap holder in IPL, then it was Pakistani swing bowler, Sohail Tanvir, scalping 22 wickets in 11 matches.

1. The IPL committee broadcasted IPL matches live on Youtube in 2010.

1. When it comes to taking the most catches in IPL, Suresh Raina tops the tally with 104 catches.

1. Indian star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has affected the most number of run-outs in the history of IPL, 21.

1. The most interesting fact about IPL is among 8 teams, Mumbai Indians has won the title 5 times (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020).

1. Chennai Super Kings is the only franchise that hasn’t changed it’s skipper since its participation in IPL.

1. Punjab kings and Delhi Capitals are the only teams to the IPL final once, the rest of the teams have played it multiple times.

1. Bowling a maiden over is a very big deal in the T20 format, especially if it’s IPL. Praveen Kumar has registered the most maiden overs in IPL (14).

1. Former Indian spin doctor Harbhajan Singh is one of the best spinners of this lucrative league, bowling 1268 dot balls in 160 innings.

1. T20 format and six is the best match for any batter. The Caribbean legend Chris Gayle has smacked most number sixes, 357 sixes in 139 innings.

1. KKR all-rounder Andre Russell holds the record of having the highest strike rate in IPL. He has a strike rate of 179.29.

1. In terms of the best batting average, Indian opener KL Rahul remains first with an impressive average of 46.53.

1. The highest run-getter of IPL is Current Indian skipper Virat Kohli, with 6076 runs in 199 games.

1. Mumbai Indians and Sri Lankan star Lasith Malinga owns the record of taking the most wickets, 170 wickets in 122 IPL matches.

1. Australian swashbuckling opener, David Warner has won the Orange Cap thrice (2015, 2017 & 2019). Isn’t interesting that an overseas player ruling the Indian event. It’s surprising that Indian players have won the Orange Cap four times only.

1. Bhuvneshwar Kumar ( 2016 $ 2017) and Dwayne Bravo (2013 & 2015)  have had the privilege to win the purple Cap twice in the history of IPL.

1. The milestone of scoring the most number of fifties in IPL is held by David Warner, the southpaw has fifty 50s in 1148 games.

1. The “Universe Boss” Chris Gayle has hit the highest number of centuries in IPL (6). Virat Kohli is only one century away to equal this record.

Aggressive fast bowler Dale Steyn has bowled the most dot balls (211) in a single season, he achieved the feat in 2012 representing Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Taking a 5 wicket haul in a T20 match is a matter of pride, Aljarri joseph got 6/12 against SRH in 2019 IPL, which is the best bowling figure by a bowler.

1. Indian veteran leg spinner has taken the most hat-tricks in IPL (2008, 2011 & 2013).