New Zealand squad for the ODI World Cup 2023

New Zealand squad for the ODI World Cup 2023

New Zealand’s announcement of their 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 brings both experience and promising talent to the forefront. Kane Williamson’s return after recovering from a knee injury is a significant boost for the team, as he is not only the skipper but also one of their star batters. Williamson’s leadership and batting ability make him a key figure in New Zealand’s campaign.

Tim Southee, with his wealth of experience, adds depth to the squad, and this will be his fourth World Cup appearance. Mark Chapman, known for his white-ball skill, is one notable selection in the group. While his ODI results this year have been average, his superb T20I performances have earned him a spot. Chapman’s ability to excel in the T20 format, with an average of over 50 and an exceptional strike rate, suggests he may add important firepower to New Zealand’s middle order. 

The inclusion of spin-bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra and right-hand batter Will Young in New Zealand’s World Cup squad reflects the team’s commitment to versatility and depth. Rachin Ravindra has proven to be a valuable asset for the Black Caps, particularly in white-ball cricket. On the other hand, Will Young’s selection brings depth to the team’s batting lineup. A right-handed batter, Young has showcased his proficiency in various formats and can provide stability and consistency. 

New Zealand’s head coach Gary Stead said: “It’s always a special time to name a tournament team, and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. It’s a great honor to represent your country at a World Cup. From Kane and Tim heading to their fourth tournament to the guys selected for the first time, it’s always a very exciting time.” 

Kane Williamson‘s Men will face England in the 2023 World Cup opening game on October 5 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. 

New Zealand Squad for the ODI World Cup 2023

Here are the members of New Zealand squad for the ODI World Cup 2023 –

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Will Young


Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: