England Reveals Provisional Squad for ODI World Cup 2023

England Reveals Provisional Squad for ODI World Cup 2023

The defending champions have unveiled their preliminary squad for the upcoming ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023, and the announcement comes with a significant and exciting development. Renowned all-rounder Ben Stokes has chosen to reverse his decision to retire from One Day International (ODI) cricket, marking his return to the squad. This decision holds immense importance, as Stokes’ presence adds a substantial boost to the team’s overall balance and firepower. 

The cricket world was treated to a surprise revelation on Wednesday, as it was unveiled that Ben Stokes had made the significant decision to reverse his retirement from One Day International (ODI) cricket. This announcement brings with it a wave of excitement, particularly as Stokes is set to make his return in the forthcoming four-match ODI series against New Zealand.

In a subsequent confirmation, England selector Luke Wright provided clarity, indicating that the same group of 15 players selected to face the Kiwis will also form the provisional squad for the impending ICC Cricket World Cup.

Wright also stated that Archer will only be included in England’s World Cup plans as a traveling reserve.

Amidst the squad announcements, some significant changes have drawn attention. Unfortunately, the squad has excluded the prominent attacking batter, Harry Brook. On a positive note, Gus Atkinson’s consistent and impressive performances in county cricket have earned him a well-deserved reward. 

Until September 5, teams are required to formally submit their tentative World Cup team to the ICC, and they can make additional changes until September 28.England’s World Cup campaign kicks off on October 5 against New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

England Squad for ODI World Cup 2023

England’s provisional squad for the World Cup: Jos Buttler (Captain), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, and Chris Woakes. 

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: