Fastest Century In IPL History

Fastest Century In IPL History

Batting in the most prominent league of the World is not easy for the players who have issues against spin and pace variations. Hitting a century in T20 cricket is a very big deal. If a batsman scores a hundred then his team tends to score more than 200 runs most of the time. And a 100 in fewer deliveries is an achievement to cherish, there are few players who have scored centuries in less balls. But the most interesting thing is that only one player is on the list of the Fastest Century in IPL, let’s have a look at them. 

Chris Gayle

West Indian explosive opener Chris Gayle owns the record of scoring the fastest century in IPL history. He accomplished the feat against Pune Warriors India in the group stage match of the 2013 IPL in just 30 balls. In his most destructive innings, Gayle whacked 17 sixes & 13 fours. He ended up making 175* runs off just 66 balls, which assisted Royal Challengers Bangalore to post 263 runs for PWI. It is the highest score by any side in IPL.

Yusuf Pathan

Indian swashbuckling batsman Yusuf Pathan comes in 2nd place in the matter of hitting the fastest century in IPL. Pathan made the century in just 37 balls against Mumbai Indians in the 1st edition of IPL, Rajasthan Royals was chasing a massive target of 213 runs. But fell behind for 5 runs only. His record lasted for 5 years until Gayle broke it in 2013. 

David Miller

Proteas southpaw David Miller has also made it to the elite list of fastest century in IPL by smashing a hundred in just 38 balls against Royal Challengers Bangalore. It was a knock-out game of the 2013 IPL, Miller struck 7 sixes and 8 fours to go past the target of 191 runs set by RCB. On that day, Miller showed the world what he is capable of. 

Adam Gilchrist 

Getting former Australian wicket-keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist’s name in terms of scoring the fastest century in IPL is not surprising. Gilchrist played for Deccan Chargers in the 2008 IPL. The wicket-keeper batsman made the 100 in 42 balls against a strong Mumbai Indians side. His destructive batting helped Deccan Chargers to chase down a score of 145 in just 12 overs. The Australian southpaw smacked 10 sixes and 9 fours to achieve this milestone.

AB DE Villiers 

One of the most loved foreign players, AB DE Villiers has also secured a place in this manner. Mr.360 smacked the century against Gujarat Lions in 43 balls in the 9th edition of the IPL (2016). The aggressive batsman hit 12 sixes and 10 fours in his innings of 129 off 43 balls. Australia’s David Warner is also the 5th fastest century scorer in IPL, with the same number of balls as De Villiers.

List of Players With the Fastest Century in IPL

Player Balls Against Year Venue
Chris Gayle (RCB)30Pune Warriors India2013M Chinnaswamy St
Yusuf Pathan (RR)37Mumbai Indians2008Brabourne St
David Miller (KXIP)38Royal Challengers Bangalore2013IS Bindra St
Adam Gilchrist (DC)42Mumbai Indians2008DY Patil St
AB DE Villiers (RCB)43Gujarat Lions2016M Chinnaswamy St
David Warner (SRH)43Kolkata Knight Riders2017Rajiv Gandhi St
Sanath Jayasuriya (MI)45Chennai Super Kings2008Wankhede St
Mayank Agarwal (PKBS)45Rajasthan Royals2020Sharjah St
Murali Vijay (CSK)46Rajasthan Royals2010P Chidambaram St
Chris Gayle (RCB)46Punjab Kings2015M Chinnaswamy St
Chris Gayle (RCB)46Punjab Kings2011M Chinnaswamy St
AB DE Villiers (RCB)47Mumbai Indians2015Wankhede St
Who scored the fastest century in IPL?

Chris Gayle scored the fastest century in IPL, in 30 balls against PWI in 2013.

Which Indian made the fastest century in IPL?

Yusuf Pathan made the fastest century in IPL among Indians, in 37 balls vs MI in 2008.

What is Chris Gayle’s fastest 100 in IPL in T20?

Chris Gayle’s fastest century in T20 came in 30 balls against PWI in the 2013 IPL.

Which is Virat Kohli’s fastest century in IPL?

Virat Kohli’s fastest century came in 47 balls against PKBS in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: