India Chased down 70 runs target set by Australia at MCG (Melbourne Cricket ground) on Tuesday, December 29th to win the 2nd match of the Border-Gavaskar trophy. India equal border Gavaskar series by 1-1. India won the boxing day test match for the 4th time. 

Who scored the most number of runs for Australia in the 2nd innings?

Chris Green scored the most number of runs (45) for Australia in the 2nd innings.  He tried hard to put Australia in a good position but got out off a short pitch delivery by Mohammad Siraj. Pat Cummins also made 22 runs to give India an unwanted target of 70 runs. 

Who grabbed the most number of wickets for India in the 2nd innings?

Debutant Mohammad Siraj grabbed the most number of wickets (3/37 in 21.3 overs) for Australia in the 2nd innings. He bagged 5 wickets in total in the match and it was surely a debut to remember for Siraj. Ashwin, Jadeja, and Bumrah took 2 wickets respectively. Indian bowlers played a big role to win the match. They just didn’t let the Aussies put the match in their pocket. 

2nd innings of India in pursuit of 70 runs

Agarwal again failed to make a mark departed after making 5, surely he has been bunny of Starc. Shubman Gill notched up unbeaten 35 to seal the series along with skipper Rahane, who scored 27*.  Debutant Shubman Gill made 70 runs in his first ever test match, that was a great way to embark on the journey, 

Match SummaryIndia equal border Gavaskar series by 1-1

Australia 1st innings 195/10 India 1st innings 326/10
Labuschagne (48)  Rahane (112)
Head (38) Jadeja (57)
Bumrah- 4/56 overs:16  Lyon- 3/72 overs:27.1
Ashwin- 3/35  overs:24  Starc- 3/78 overs:26
1st Innings
Australia 2nd innings 200/10   India 2nd innings 70/2
Green (45)Gill (35)
Wade (40)Rahane (27)
Siraj- 3/37 overs:21.3 Cummins- 1/22 overs:5
Ashwin- 2/71 over:37.1Starc- 1/20 overs:4
2nd Innings

India won the match by 8 wickets 

Man of the MatchIndia equal border Gavaskar series by 1-1

Captain Ajinkya Rahane earned the Man of the Match award for his brilliant hundred (112) and 27* in the 1st & 2nd innings respectively. Rahane became the winner of the inaugural Mullagh Medal for his sensational performance in the boxing day test.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: