Most Wickets In Single IPL Season 

Most Wickets In Single IPL Season 

Indian Premier League is referred to as the heaven for spin bowlers but if you look at the stats the story is completely different, it’s the skillful and competent fast bowlers who rule the IPL often. Performing well in a match is commendable but punching it with consistency is splendid. With a lot of hard work, consistency, accuracy, and variety a bowler becomes the contender of Purple Cap in the IPL, which means being the highest wicket-taker. The 16th season of IPL is around the corner, hence gaze through the bowlers with the most wickets in a single IPL season. 

Harshal Patel has Most Wickets In Single IPL Season 

Harshal Patel 

Gujarat Born fast bowler Harshal Patel owns the feat of most wickets in a single IPL season. Despite playing IPL since 2012, Harshal got the breakthrough season in 2021, bagging 32 wickets in 15 matches to take Royal Challengers Bangalore to the playoffs. The right-hand pacer was so good with the ball that he struck in every 10 balls in the 2021 IPL, furthermore, his best bowling figure of 5/27 appeared against Mumbai Indians. Following his success in the IPL, he made his India debut in the same year against the Blackcaps. 

Dwayne Bravo 

One of the greatest all-rounders, who is currently the highest wicket-taker in IPL, Dwayne Bravo finds himself in 2nd place on the top-notch chart of most wickets in a single IPL season. Bravo was a consistent performer in IPL with his stints with CSK. The Caribbean seamer wreaked havoc in IPL 2013 and scalped 32 wickets in 18 outings for his team, including a best of 4 for 42, which came against the mighty Mumbai Indians in the final at the Eden Gardens. Still, his fabulous effort went in vain as MI beat CSK to lift their maiden IPL title. 

Kagiso Rabada

Kagiso Rabada has been a vital cog in every team he represented in IPL. Rabada was on a roll in the 2020 IPL, the Proteas quick bowler picked up 30 wickets in 17 games at a stunning strike rate of 13.1, which is 3rd most wickets in a single IPL season. The ace bowler engineered the way to the final for the Delhi Capitals, however, MI beat DC by 5 wickets to clinch their 5th IPL trophy. 

Lasith Malinga 

The greatest fast bowler in the history of the Indian T20 League, Lasith Malinga features in the 4th place on the most wickets in a single IPL season tally. Having played 16 matches in 2011, Malinga took 28 wickets at a fine average and strike rate of 13.39 and 13.5 respectively. The sling-action bowler was at his peak and troubled everyone with his precise yorkers and slowers. In that ongoing season, he registered his career-best IPL figure of 5/13 vs Delhi Capitals. 

James Faulkner 

The left-arm fast bowler, who was problematic for the batsmen in his regime due to the outstanding backhand slower balls gets the 5th spot on the honorable most wickets in a single IPL season list. Being featured in IPL since 2011, Faulkner played all matches in an edition for the first time and claimed 28 wickets on 16 occasions in 2013. But despite having a memorable season, Rajasthan Royals ended their journey in the Playoffs. The Tasmanian seamer bagged 2 fifers in that season, including his best of 5 for 16 against SRH. 

List of Most Wickets in Single IPL Season

Player YearMatches Innings Wickets AVGSRBest4 Wickets5 Wickets
H Patel (RCB)202115153214.3410.55/2711
D Bravo (CSK)201318183215.5311.74/421
K Rabada (DC)202017173018.2613.14/242
L Malinga (MI)201116162813.3913.55/131
J Faulkner (RR)201316162815.2513.55/162
M Shami (GT)202317172818.6413.924/112
M Sharma (GT)202314142713.379.815/1021
J Bumrah202015152714.9613.34/142
Y Chahal202217172719.5115.15/4011
R Khan (GT)202317172720.4414.884/301
B Kumar201714142614.1912.05/191
D Bravo201517162616.3812.03/22
W Hasaranga202216162616.5313.15/1811
Who has taken the most wickets in a single IPL season?

Harshal Patel and Dwayne Bravo have taken the most wickets in a single IPL season (32). 

Which Indian has bagged the most wickets in an IPL edition?

Harshal Patel has bagged the most wickets in an IPL edition, 32 wickets in the 2021 IPL.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: