Australian Women’s team won the first-ever T20 World Cup

On this day in 2010, Australian Women’s team won the first-ever T20 World Cup, Perry shined in the final

On this day in 2010, Australian Women’s team won the first-ever Women’s T20 World Cup by beating New Zealand women’s by 3 runs at Bridgetown. Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry shined on the night of the final, by taking 3/18 runs in her 4 overs spell. 

After winning the toss Australia started their innings with Elyse Villani & Shelley Nitschke. Villani made 6 runs and Shelly departed after scoring 3. Leah Poulton took control of the innings for some time but went back to the pavilion, notching up 20 off 28 runs. Aussie skipper Alex Blackwell got out for a golden duck in the finals. Afterward, lower-order batsman, Sarah Elliot scored the 2nd highest in the innings 19 off 20 balls. Somehow, Australian women managed to make 106 runs with the loss of 6 wickets for their inconsistent batting. 

For Kiwis Sophie Devine bagged the most number of wickets, 2/21 in 3 overs. Sian Ruck got 1 and Browne took 2 wickets in the match. 

In the pursuit of 107 runs, New Zealand women lost their first wicket captain Aimee Watkins was dismissed after making 2 runs. The 1st down batsman Sarah McGlashan also couldn’t do anything as he got run out. The next batswoman Sophie Devine fought hard for her country with her 38* off 35 balls but couldn’t win the match for New Zealand. The lower order batswoman Browne also added the 20 off 25 balls for her team.

Regular wickets from the Australian bowlers kept them in the match. For Australia, Clea Smith bagged 1/22 and Nitschke came back with 1/10 in 4 overs. 

Man of the Match

Ellyse Perry earned the Man of the Match award for her exceptional figure, 3/18 in 4 overs. 

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top