India announces ODI squad for against Australia 2023

India announces ODI squad for against Australia 2023

The Indian cricket team has announced its squad for the upcoming ODIs against Australia, with some key players rested for the first two matches. The Indian cricket team’s management has decided to rest key players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav for the first two ODIs against Australia, with the aim of managing their workload and providing opportunities to other players. KL Rahul will lead the team in these matches, and R Ashwin makes a return to the ODI squad. This strategic rotation of players is part of India’s preparations for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup, allowing them to assess different combinations and player performances. 

It’s exciting to see Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill competing at the top of the list. Gaikwad has demonstrated his ability as an opening batsman in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and domestic cricket. Ishan Kishan, on the other hand, is known for his explosive batting and has frequently batted in the middle order. The Indian team will be without Axar Patel owing to a left quadriceps strain. In limited-overs cricket, he has been an invaluable addition with both bat and ball. This opens the door for other spinners to stand up and make an impression in his absence. 

The three-match series will kick off on Friday, September 22nd at the Punjab Cricket Association’s IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. The second match of the series will be played on September 24 at Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore, with the third ODI taking place on September 27 at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. 

India squad for first two ODIs vs Australia 2023

KL Rahul (c), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar

India’s Squad for 3rd ODI vs Australia

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Washington Sundar, R. Ashwin.


Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: