Nepal Squad for Asia Cup 2023

Nepal revealed their Squad for Asia Cup 2023

Nepal has announced its 17-player roster for this year’s Asia Cup, which will be hosted in Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The young all-rounder, Rohit Paudel, will lead the team. 

Paudel’s contributions were instrumental in Nepal’s qualification for the 2023 Asia Cup, earned through their victory in the ACC Premier Cup earlier this year. At just 20 years old, Paudel’s capabilities and leadership qualities have earned him the trust to guide his country on the grand stage once more. As Nepal prepares to compete against formidable opponents, Paudel’s role as captain carries the aspirations of the team and the nation. 

Nepal’s placement in Group A of the six-team Asia Cup, alongside cricket powerhouses Pakistan and India, sets the stage for intense competition in the upcoming tournament. The grouping places Nepal in formidable company, facing off against two cricketing giants. Their clash with co-hosts Pakistan in Multan on August 30 and the encounter against India in Pallekele on September 4 carry significant weight, providing them with opportunities to test their mettle against top-tier teams. 

A trio of key figures will lead Nepal’s batting lineup, as reliable top-order batter Bhim Sharki, talented teenager Gulshan Jha, and the all-round skills of captain Rohit Paudel shoulder the responsibility. This trio constitutes the core of the team’s batting efforts, even though the overall lineup might be relatively inexperienced.

The spin combo of Lalit Rajbanshi and Sandeep Lamichhane emerged as crucial assets in the bowling department. Their ability to exploit situations and exercise control over opposing batters will be critical in limiting scores and capturing wickets at critical moments.

Nepal Squad for Asia Cup 2023

Rohit Paudel (capt), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh (wk), Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC, Mousom Dhakal, Sundeep Jora, Kishore Mahato, Arjun Saud

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: