BCCI Announced Squad For SA T20 and One-off England Test, Dhawan and Samson missed out

BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket In India) announced squads for India for the SA (South Africa) T20s and one-off test against England. In form batsman, Shikhar Dhawan and Sajnu Samson missed out from the squad for T20s. While Ajinkya Rahane is out of the test squad due to a hamstring injury.  KL Rahul will lead the team in 5 T20s while Rishabh Pant will be his deputy.

Out of the form and injured Hardik Pandya has made a comeback to the team along with Dinesh Karthik who last played for India in 2019. Pandya amassed 413 runs in 14 matches in IPL 2022 at an impressive average of 41.30, while bowling in full flow and bagged 4 wickets in the event. 

On the other hand, Dinesh Karthik was on track as a finisher for Royal Challengers Bangalore, accumulating 287 runs at a dashing strike rate of 191.33. 

The fastest bowler in IPL history Umran Malik, who clocked 157 KM in 2022 IPL against Delhi Capitals has been rewarded with a maiden Indian call-up following his exceptional performance (22 wickets in 14 matches) along with raw pace throughout the tournament. 

Although players like Shikhar Dhawan, Rahul Tripathi, and Sanju Samson had a blast with the bat this season. But again combination plays a big role in team selection. Dhawa, Tripathi, and Samson made 460, 413 & 374 runs respectively. 

India will play 5 T0 matches against South Africa between the 9th to 19th of June in five different venues. The BCCI will allow 100 percent attendance for the matches. 

Match Date Venue Time
1st T209th JuneDelhi7 PM
2nd T2012th JuneCuttack7 PM
3rd T2014th JuneVisakahapathnam7 PM
4th T2017th JuneRajkot7 PM
5th T2019th JuneBengaluru7 PM

India”s T20 Squad for SA 

For the one-off test against England which will be played from 1st July to 5th July at Edgebaston, Shreyas Iyer and Parsidh Krishna have been included in the squad. Apart from this, the squad remains the same as last year. Currently, India is leading with 2-1 in the series. 

India’s Test squad for One-off Test

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top