Five Players With Most Wins As T20 Captain

Most Wins as Captain in T20

Captaining a national side is always a matter of elation. Captaincy is a big parameter in cricket, as he/she has to take all the decisions on the field in terms of bowling, batting, and fielding. A good skipper keeps the environment healthy and solves the problems of the team by communicating with them. Leading from the front is the virtue of a competent captain. There are many captains who have played this great game, but not every individual has been able to leave a mark. Let’s talk about the top 5 players with the most wins as a captain in T20 international

Asghar Stanikzai 

Asghar Stanikzai : Most Wins as Captain in T20

Recently retired Afghan cricketer, Asghar Stanikzai has won the most matches as a T20 international captain. The 33 years has captained the Afghanistan side 52 times and taken the team over the rope in 42 games with a win percentage of 81.73. Although Asghar never won a T20 World Cup, he has helped the team to grow from the grassroots level. 

Eoin Morgan

The first World cup winning captain of England, Eoin Morgan gets the joint top spot in terms of winning the most matches as a T20 captain. Eoin Morgan has been captaining the side in T20s since 2013, losing only 27 games out of 72. His win percentage of 60.56 is 2nd best among captains playing more than 40 matches. 

Babar Azam

Current Pakistani skipper, Babar Azam also stands 1st on the tally of most wins as captain in the T20 with 42 wins in 71 matches. Babar has revolutionized the Pakistani T20 team with his consistent batting and impeccable tactics on the field. The ace Pakistani maintains a win percentage of 64.61. Babar led Pakistan to the Semi-final in the 2021 T20 World Cup and final to the 2022 T20 World Cup final too.

MS Dhoni 

One of the greatest captains of all time, MS Dhoni has had to make it to this list. MS is the first-ever captain to hold the T20 World Cup, he accomplished the feat in 2007. With a win percentile of 59.28, he led the Indian side 72 times in the shortest format of the game and took them over the rope 41 times. MS Dhoni was also a part of the first T20 World Cup super-over match, where India faced Pakistan. 

Aaron Finch

The Aussie skipper Aaron Finch, who won the 2021 T20 World Cup in UAE, has the 3rd most wins in T20 as captain. In the last few years, Finch led his team on 76 occasions and has tasted victory 40 times at a fascinating win percentage of 55.47.

Rohit Sharma

The latest leader of the Indian T20 side, Rohit Sharma has secured 4th place in having the most wins as captain in T20. Rohit took charge as the full-time captain in 2021 and since then he has led the team beautifully, winning 39 games out of 52 at a staggering win % of 76.47.

Virat Kohli

One of the best all-format players, Virat Kohli began leading his side in 2017 and has done pretty well in the format. Winning 30 games out of 50, Virat has managed to keep a win percentile of 64.58. Under his captaincy, India registered series wins in T20s in Australia, England, South Africa, and New Zealand. 

Darren Sammy

Whenever we talk about captains in the T20 World Cup, we must acknowledge the efforts of Darren Sammy, as he won it twice in 2012 & 2016. Sammy has had the privilege of guiding the West Indian team on 47 occasions and has tasted victory 27 times. 

Who has won the most matches as a captain in T20s?

Asghar Stanikzai has the most wins as a captain in T20s (42). 

Which Indian captain has won the most matches as a T20 captain?

MS Dhoni has won the most matches as an Indian T20 captain (41). 

Player Matches Wins Losses Win %Tied
Asghar Afghan (AFG)5242981.731
Eoin Morgan (ENG)72422760.562
Babar Azam (PAK)71422364.61
MS Dhoni (IND)72412859.281
Aaron Finch (AUS)76403255.471
Rohit Sharma (IND)51391276.47
Kane Willaimson (NZ)69353252.201
Virat Kohli (IND)50301664.582
Sarfaraz Ahmed (PAK)37290878.37

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top