IPL 2022 Format & Groups Revealed

IPL 2022 Format, Venue and Groups Revealed

The IPL governing body has revealed the IPL 2022 format, venues, and groups on Friday, 25th February. This year Indian Premier League is gonna see 10 teams in the tournament, unlike previous years where 8 teams fought with each other to get to the play-offs. The teams have been divided into two groups according to their count of winning IPL and qualifying for the playoffs. Mumbai Indians, who are the 5 times champion are on the top of Group A, while the current champion Chennai Super Kings are leading Group B. 

The teams of Group A are Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, and Lucknow Supergiants, in the mentioned order. 

In Group B, Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings, and Gujarat Titans have got a place, in the same order. 

IPL 2022 Format, Venue and Groups Revealed

IPL 2022 Format

IPL 2022 format In a total of 70 group stage matches, 10 teams will clash with each other. Each team will play 14 matches in this marquee event. Now let us understand how this IPL 2022 is gonna be different than the last IPL season. In the previous season, each team played against each other twice, but this year every team will play their group franchises twice. Afterward, each team will fare the same row team in the opposite group two times, now the match count is 10. Then comes the twist, to fulfill the quota of playing 14 league matches every team will lock horns with the remaining four teams once in the opposite group.  

The IPL 2022 will kick off on 26th March and the final will be played on 29th March. The BCCI has not divulged the complete schedule yet. 

It is unknown to many people that the same format was used back in 2011 when BCCI added Kochi Taskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India in the event. 

IPL 2022 Venues

This year the teams will not get the privilege to play at their home, as the home and away rule will not be applicable. 70 group stage matches will be played in 4 venues of Maharastra. Wankhede and DY Patil Stadium will host 20 matches apiece, while Brabourne and MCA Pune will conduct 15 matches respectively. Each team will play 4 matches in Wankhede and DY Patil stadium separately and  3 matches each in Brabourne and MCA Pune stadium. 

The other teams are objecting about Mumbai Indians will get to play at their home ground. However, the BCCI will release the schedule of the IPL 2022 in the first week of March. 

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: