Asia Cup 2022 India Squad

Asia Cup 2022 India Squad

Sri Lanka will host the 2022 Asia Cup in UAE (United Arab Emirates) from 27th August until 11th September. Six Teams will compete with each other to wear the Asian crown. Every team is gearing up for this marquee tournament. Check out full Asia Cup 2022 schedule here.

Asia Cup 2022 India Squad

Asia Cup 2022 Group A

Group A comprises India, Pakistan, and a qualifying team. On the contrary, 

Asia Cup 2022 Group B

Group B is made of Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan. Each team will face each other and the top two teams from each group will advance to the Semi Finals. Eventually, the winners of the semi-finals will lock horns in the final. 

If you look at the event, India has been quite dominating since 2016 in the Asia Cup. They won the previous T20 format Asia Cup in Bangladesh in 2016 and Cliched the trophy in 2018 which was a 50-over format, 

The BCCI declared the squad for the 2022 Asia Cup on 8th August. 

Virat Kohli has returned to the squad who rested after the England tour of 2022, while KL Rahul has also made a comeback after two and half months after injury. 

Among pacers, Newbies Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan have cemented a place owing to their good performance in England and West Indies T20Is. 

Spearhead Jasprit Bumrah and his crew Harshal Patel have been ruled out of the Asia Cup 2022 due to their respective injuries. 

As the standby players, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Axar Patel will travel with the team to UAE. 

All in all, the Indian side is formidable from a batting and spin-balling perspective but if you talk about the pacers, except Bhuvneshwar Kumar there is no depth. However, India has laid down their support and faith to Arshdeep and Avesh to do well. 

Asia Cup 2022 India Squad Players List

Here is India’s Asia Cup 2022 India squad – Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (WC), Dinesh Karthik (WC), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh. 

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: