ICC World Test Championship Winners List 

ICC World Test Championship Winners List 

The World Test Championship is the only red ball ICC event that commenced 4 years back in 2019. Test cricket is the ultimate format of the game and every team wants to take part in it But unfortunately, only teams with adequate cricketing ability are given the test status. In the maiden World Test Championship, Nine full members barring Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, and Ireland competed.12 points are allocated for every winning match. 6 for a tie, and 4 points are given for a draw. After clashing in respective matches against a few teams, the top two teams secure their place in the finals of the World Test championship. So far one season of WTC has been completed effectively where New Zealand became the maiden WTC champion under the leadership of Kane Williamson defeating Virat Kohli’s India. Let’s check out ICC World Test Championship Winners List –

ICC World Test Championship Winners

2019-21 World Test Championship Winner

The island nation that never won an ODI World Cup or a T20 World Cup in its lifetime, New Zealand was the 2019-21 World Test Championship winner. The Blackcaps played 11 matches and came out victorious in 7 matches along with zero ties and draws. While India won 12 out of their 17 games, losing 4 and making 1 draw.

In Southhampton, the Men in Blue and the White Ferns locked horns for one last battle from 18th to 23rd June. Batting first, India only managed to score 217 on a typical English swinging deck, Kiwi lanky seamer Kyle Jamieson rattled India with his 5/31. In reply, New Zealand posted 249 riding on Conway’s 54 and Williamson’s 49, while Shami and Ishant choked the Kiwis with their 4/76 and 3/48 apiece.

India could not bat well in the 2nd innings too and got bundled for mere 170 runs as solely Rishabh touched the 40 runs mark. This time it was the famous Southee-Boult pair, who shared 7 wickets between them. Courtesy of India’s poor display with the bat, New Zealand chased down the 139 runs target by 8 wickets following Willamson’s fine unbeaten 52 and Ross Tyalor’s gritty 47*. 

Who won the 2019-21 World Test championship?

New Zealand won the 2019-21 World Test Championship. 

Who are the finalists of the 2021-23 WTC?

India and Australia are the finalists of the 2021-23 WTC.

When will the 2021-23 WTC will be played?

The 2021-23 WTC will be played at the Oval from 7th June to 11th June 2023. 

Also you can read about most wicket taker in WTC and most run scorers in ICC World Test Championship. 

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: