Bangladesh squad for the World Cup 2023

Bangladesh squad for the World Cup 2023

Bangladesh announces their squad for the World Cup 2023

Bangladesh has officially announced its 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India, and there’s a notable omission in the form of veteran batsman Tamim Iqbal. The team will be under the leadership of newly-appointed skipper Shakib Al Hasan, who continues to be at the helm, with Najmul Hossain Shanto assuming the role of vice-captain. Tamim Iqbal had previously reversed his retirement from ODIs earlier this year but has not made it to the World Cup squad.

Although Tamim Iqbal won’t be part of the squad, Bangladesh’s batting lineup still boasts experienced players like Mushfiqur Rahim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, and Shakib Al Hasan. Notably, Bangladesh remains a strong spin-oriented team, with an impressive group of finger spinners including Shakib, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, and Mahedi Hasan. What’s even more valuable is that several of these spinners are versatile all-rounders, with Shakib and Mehidy Hasan Miraj known for their batting ability. Nasum Ahmed and Mahedi Hasan has also demonstrated their batting skills in the recent Asia Cup, adding depth to Bangladesh’s lower order. This blend of experience and emerging talent makes Bangladesh a team to watch out for in the upcoming World Cup.

Bangladesh’s pace bowling attack, while not as renowned as their spinners, possesses the skill and potential to trouble opposition batsmen. Taskin Ahmed and Mustafizur Rahman are the key figures in this department, with their ability to generate pace and movement. They will be supported by promising young pacers like Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, and Tanzim Hasan, who offer depth and variety to the pace attack.

Bangladesh squad for the World Cup 2023

Bangladesh squad for the World Cup 2023: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vc), Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top