Lowest Score In IPL History

Lowest Score In IPL History

IPL is known for its typical high-scoring games as the wickets are mostly flat and slow. We often see IPL teams getting 180+ runs in their allocated 20 overs but packing the teams at below par score is rare in the Indian Premier League. A deadly choking bowling performance can only bundle a team at an embarrassing total. In today’s listicle, we will find out the lowest score in IPL by a team caused by some outrageous bowling shows. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore has Lowest Score In IPL History

Royal Challengers Bangalore (49)

Royal Challengers Bangalore owns the lowest score in IPL as well as the highest score in IPL (263). The courtesy of RCB’s unwanted record goes to KKR’s vicious seam bowling on a swinging track in a group match at Eden Gardens in 2017. Batting first KKR posted 131 runs on board and the overseas Pace bowling trio of KKR- Nathan Coulter Nile, Chris Woakes, and Colin De Grandhomme took 3 wickets apiece to restrict RCB to 49 runs in 9.3 overs. 

Rajasthan Royals (58)

Before registering the lowest-ever IPL score in 2017, RCB bundled out Rajasthan Royals for 58 runs in the 2nd match of the 2009 IPL in Cape Town. It was the great man Anil Kumble who set the stage on fire with his 5/5 in 3.1 overs, making the mockery of RR batting as they could only score 59 runs. Dale Steyn and Praveen Kumar also claimed 2 wickets apiece in the match. 

Rajasthan Royals (59)

Unfortunately, Rajasthan Royals finds themselves in 3rd place on the bizarre list of the lowest score in IPL. In their home ground against RCB in 2023, the visitors stacked up RR for 59 runs during defending 172 runs. While Wayne Parnell ripped them in the powerplay and returned with 3/10, Michael Bracewell and Karn Sharma bagged 2 wickets respectively to force RR to register the lowest score of IPL 2023.

Delhi Capitals (66)

Delhi Capitals who was formerly known as Delhi Capitals has the 4th lowest score in IPL. DC created this upsetting record when they faced Mumbai Indians in a group match in 2017. MI was defending their massive total of 212 runs, while spin duo Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma ran through the DC batting unit with their 3/22 and 3/11 respectively to fold them for 66 runs in front of the host’s home crowd. 

Delhi Capitals (67)

Delhi Capitals would be ashamed to occupy a place again on the dicey list of lowest scores in IPL. This time Punjab Kings gave them a humiliating defeat to forget when they met DC in Mohali in 2017. Bowling first PKBS sent the entire DC team to the pavilion for 67 runs and it all happened in the course of 17.1 overs. PKBS swing bowler Sandeep Sharma damaged the visiting team with 4/20, whereas Axar Patel and Varun Aaron complimented him with 2 wickets each. 

Kolkata Knight Riders (67)

Kolkata-based franchise KKR finds the joint 5th place on the lowest score in the IPL tally as they got all out for 67 runs against Mumbai Indians at Wankhede Stadium in the 1st edition of IPL. Regular blows from a robust bowling unit consisting of Shaun Pollock, Dwayne Bravo, Rohan Raje, and Dominic Thornely led KKR to this demeaning feat. MI chased down the score in just 5.3 overs. 

Lowest Score in IPL by a Team List

Team Score Against Year Venue
RCB49KKR2017Eden Gardens
RR58RCB2009Cape Town
RR59RCB2023Sawai Mansingh Stadium
DC66MI2017Arun Jaitley Stadium
DC67PKBS (KXIP)2017IS Bindra Stadium
KKR67MI2008Wankhede Stadium
RCB68SRH2022Brabourne Stadium
RCB70CSK2019Chepauk Stadium
RCB70RR2014Abu Dhabi
PKBS (KXIP)73RPS2017Maharashtra Cricket Stadium
KTK74DC (Deccan Chargers)2011Nehru Stadium
CSK79MI2013Wankhede Stadium
DC80SRH2013Rajib Gandhi Stadium
RR81KKR2011Eden Gardens
Which team has the lowest score in IPL?

RCB has the lowest score in IPL (49). 

What is CSK’s lowest score in IPL?

CSK’s lowest score in IPL is 79 vs MI in 2013. 

What is MI’s lowest score in IPL?

MI’s lowest score in IPL is 87 against PKBS (KXIP) in 2011. 

Which team made the lowest score in IPL 2023?

Rajasthan Royals made the lowest score in IPL 2023, 59 vs RCB.

Read more about Highest Score in IPL history.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: