Most Fours In IPL

Most Fours In IPL

IPL is the most entertaining cricket tournament in the world. In a T20 tournament like IPL, the fans need entertainment. They get entertained whenever a batsman hits a four or a six. So far more than 800 matches have been played in IPL and many great players have been a part of this. As the IPL 2022 is underway, let us contemplate players with the most fours in IPL history. 

Shikhar Dhawan

Swashbuckling Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan has hit the most number of fours in IPL with 750 fours in 217 matches. Dhawan has amassed 6617 runs in 216 innings at a decent average of 35.48. The southpaw drives the ball with elegance at a good strike rate of 127.17.

David Warner

Probably the best overseas player in the IPL, David Warner finds himself in the 2nd place in terms of whacking the most boundaries. The southpaw has so far smacked 646 boundaries while amassing 6397 runs at a handsome strike rate of 139.91 in 176 matches. Warner bats like poetry in motion, a perfect combination of power and timing.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli occupies 3rd place on the list, and the ace batsman has smacked 643 fours in 237 matches. Kohli is a treat to watch on the field no matter which ball he sends for a boundary, it always involves class. King Kohli has also amassed 7263 runs in the IPL, which is the most by any batter.

Rohit Sharma

The five times IPL champion, Rohit Sharma is featured in the 4th spot in hitting the most fours in IPL. Rohit has so far played 243 IPL games and made 6211 runs at a commendable average of 29.57. The veteran has struck 554 fours and 257 sixes in his 16 years long IPL career.

Suresh Raina

Known as Mr.IPL, Suresh Raina has hit the 5thmost fours in IPL (506). The middle-order batsman used to play every shot with elegance, and his backfoot punch was a joy to spectate.  In his 14 years (2008-2021) of IPL career, Raina accumulated 5528 runs at a solid strike rate of 136.76.

Top 10 Players with Most Fours In IPL

Player Matches (Innings)Fours
Shikhar Dhawan217 (216)750
David Warner176 (176)646
Virat Kohli237 (229)643
Rohit Sharma243 (238)554
Suresh Raina 205 (200)506
Gautam Gambhir154 (152)492
Robin Uthappa205 (197)481
Ajinkya Rahane172 (159)455
Dinesh Karthik242 (221)439
AB DE Villiers184 (170)413
Chris Gayle142 (141)404
Who has hit the most boundaries in the IPL?

Shikhar Dhawan has hit the most boundaries in IPL (750).

Who smacked the most fours in 2021?

Ruturaj Gaikwad smacked the most fours in 2021 (64). 

Who smashed the most fours in IPL 2022?

Jos Buttler smashed the most fours in IPL 2022 (83).

Who Struck 700 fours in IPL history first?

Shikhar Dhawan first struck 700 fours in IPL.

Who has hit the most fours in IPL 2023?

Yashasvi Jaiswal has hit the most fours in IPL 2023, with 85 fours in 17 matches.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top