Most Sixes In IPL

Most Sixes In IPL History

T20 cricket’s most fascinating trait is hitting sixes. People come to the stadium mostly to watch spectacular sixes along with players. Along with entertaining people sixes have made and broken many matches. There are some players who make the franchise crickets entertaining by hitting gigantic sixes like Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, AB DE Villers, Kieron Pollard, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, etc. Let’s contemplate the players with the most sixes in IPL.

Chris Gayle

West Indian legend Chris Gayle has smacked the most number of sixes (357) in 140 matches. Gayle is a born Southpaw who likes to send the ball over the boundary in every ball. Gayle has almost made every bowler scared of his big hittings. In 2013 the “Universe Boss” hit the longest six of his IPL career, which was 119 meters. That six is also the joint 5th longest six in IPL history (Ross Taylor). Gayle has amassed 4965 runs in 142 matches so far in IPL at a strike rate of 148.96. The tall guy from Jamaica has also scored the most number of centuries (6) in IPL.

Rohit Sharma

Indian and Mumbai Indians opener Rohit Sharma has hit the 2nd most number of sixes (257) in the IPL. Rohit is one of the best openers to play white-ball cricket ever. Rohit has made 6211 runs in 243 IPL matches at a strike rate of 130.04 so far. the right-hand batter can play long innings in white-ball cricket. He has hit 554 fours also. Rohit Sharma has crossed the mark of 50 runs 42 times in the IPL. Not only power, but The ace can also hit sixes with accurate timing only.

AB DE Villers

Abraham Benjamin DE Villers has smashed the 3rd most number of sixes (251) in the history of IPL. The swashbuckling batsman from South Africa is known as “MR 360” for his hitting ability all over the park. AB is a nightmare for bowlers around the world. He can hit any bowler for long sixes. AB has notched up 5162 runs in 184 matches at a strike rate of 151.68. He is a player who is wanted by every franchise in the world. His longest six came in the 2018 IPL (111 Meters). 

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni has whacked the 4th most number of sixes (239) in IPL. MS is regarded as the best finisher in the world, he has finished many matches for his team. Once West Indian legend Ian Bishop Said- “if 15 runs are needed in the last over, then pressure is on the bowler not on MS Dhoni”. So one can imagine what legacy MS Dhoni has left in international cricket. MS has finished many matches with a six like in 2016 Rising Pune Supergiants needed 23 runs in the last over and MS took his team home by striking Patel for 22 runs. Dhoni has amassed 5082 runs in 250 IPL matches at a strike rate of 135.91. He smashed the longest six of his IPL career in 2012 (112 mt). 

Kieron Pollard

The hard hitter from Mumbai Indians, Kieron Pollard has hit the 7th most number of sixes (223) in IPL. Kieron Pollard is known for playing quickfire innings in cricket. The Caribbean slogger has so far played 189 matches and scored 3412 runs at a strike rate of 147.32. His longest six is 105 mt, which he hit against Chennai Super Kings in the 2021 IPL. Pollard was all about power in IPL, he would hit gigantic sixes on his day.

List of Top 15 Players with Most Sixes in IPL

Players in IPLMatchesInningsSixes 
Chris Gayle142141357
Rohit Sharma 243238257
AB DE Villers 184170251
MS Dhoni250218239
Virat Kohli 237229234
David Warner 176176226
Kieron Pollard189171223
Suresh Raina 205200203
Andre Russell11296193
Shane Watson145141190
Sanju Samson152148182
Robin Uthappa 205197182
Ambati Rayudu204187173
KL Rahul 118109168
Glenn Maxwell124120158
Yusuf Pathan174154158
Who has smashed the longest six in IPL history?

South African all-rounder Albie Morkel has smashed the longest six (125 Meters) in the IPL history.

Who hit the most sixes in IPL as an Indian player?

Rohit Sharma hit 257 sixes in IPL which is the most by an Indian player.

Who has smashed the most sixes in IPL?

Chris Gayle has hit the most sixes in IPL (357).

Who slogged the most sixes in IPL 2022?

Jos Buttler slogged the most sixes in IPL 2022 (45).

Who has hammered the most sixes in IPL 2023?

Faf Du Plessis has hammered the most sixes in IPL 2023 (36).

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: