ipl winners list

IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2023 with Captain

IPL is the biggest franchise cricket league in the world which is worth around US$7 Billion. BCCI proposed the idea of the Indian Premier League after India’s 2007 T20 World Cup triumph. The inaugural edition of the IPL was played in 2008 and so far 16 editions have been completed successfully. The T20 leagues which are wanted by all players across the globe, not only entertain fans but also gives youngster a platform to showcase their talent. Since the inception of the event, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are two franchises that have dominated the tournament the most, winning 5 trophies each. Apart from them, the Kolkata Knight Riders team has won two titles so far. Let’s go through the IPL winners list from 2008 to 2023 with captain.

IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2023 with Captain
IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2023

IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2023 with Captain

IPL SeasonIPL Winners ListIPL Runners ListIPL Winning Captain List
2008Rajasthan Royals (RR)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Shane Warne
2009Deccan Chargers (DC) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)Adam Gilchrist
2010Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Mumbai Indians (MI)MS Dhoni
2011Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)MS Dhoni
2012Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Gautam Gambhir
2013Mumbai Indians (MI)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Rohit Sharma
2014Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Punjab Kings (PK)Gautam Gambhir
2015Mumbai Indians (MI)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Rohit Sharma
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad (SH) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)David Warner
2017Mumbai Indians (MI)Raising Pune Supergiant (RPS)Rohit Sharma
2018Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Sunrisers Hyderabad (SH)MS Dhoni
2019Mumbai Indians (MI)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Rohit Sharma
2020Mumbai Indians (MI)Delhi Capitals (DC)Rohit Sharma
2021Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Kolkata knight Riders (KKR)MS Dhoni
2022Gujrat Titans (GJ)Rajasthan Royals (RR)Hardik Pandya
2023Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Gujarat Titans (GT)MS Dhoni

IPL 2008 Winner: Rajasthan Royals

In total 59 matches were played in the 1st edition of the IPL in 2008. Battling hard in 14 group matches and 2 semi-finals, MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings and Shane Warne’s Rajasthan Royals fought with each other to clinch the silverware for the first time. Royals all-rounder Yusuf Pathan first hurt CSK with his 3/22 to restrict CSK to 163 runs and later helped his team to chase down the score, making a stellar 56 off 39 balls. Courtesy of Pathan’s three-dimensional show, Rajasthan Royals wrote their name as the first team on the elite IPL winners list.

IPL 2009 Winner: Deccan Chargers

Now defunct Deccan Chargers etched their name on the IPL winners list in 2009. Due to the elections in India, the 2009 IPL was held in South Africa. Deccan Chargers finished in the 4th position at the end of group stage matches. In Semi-final, they crashed table-toppers Delhi Capitals to make their way into the finals. Deccan Chargers met Royal Challengers Bangalore for the penultimate game of the season and the blue army beat RCB in a low-scoring thriller by 6 runs. Because of Gibbs’ hard made 53 off 48 balls DC could touch the respectable score of 143 runs and after that, Pragyan Ojha’s 3 for 28 obstructed RCB to 137 runs.

IPL 2010 Winner: Chennai Super Kings

The 5 times IPL champion, Chennai Super Kings won their first title in 2010. CSK had a moderate performance in the group stage, winning 7 out of 14 matches. But first, they outperformed Deccan Chargers in the semi-final by 38 runs with a clinical 4/13 bowling performance by Dough Bolinger and then thrashed star-studded Mumbai Indians in DY Patil stadium as the home team failed to chase down 169 runs powered by Suresh Raina’s brilliant 57 in 35 balls. A tight bowling display by Muttiah Muralitharan, Albie Morkel, Ravi Ashwin, and Doug Bolinger ended MI’s dream of lifting the 1st IPL trophy.

IPL 2011 Winner: Chennai Super Kings

In 2011, Chennai Super Kings became the first team to win 2 back-to-back IPL titles and printed their name on the premium IPL winners list. Fortunately, the table toppers Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings locked horns for the final battle to hold the coveted silverware. Star CSK openers Michael Hussy and Murali Vijay provided a blistering start with 63 off 45 and 95 in 52 balls respectively. Then skipper MS Dhoni chipped in with a quick 22 in 13 deliveries to put a mammoth total of 205 runs on board. During defending, Ravi Ashwin shined with 3 for 16 and Shadab Jakati bagged 2/21, handing CSK a mega victory by 58 runs.

IPL 2012 Winner: Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won the IPL 2012 by 5 wickets defeating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the finals at Eden Gardens. Having finished the group stage in the 2nd position, KKR thrashed Delhi Capitals in the semi-final to advance into the finals. CSK put a commendable score of 190/3 on the board for KKR which they accomplished in the 4th ball of the 19th over because of opener Manvinder Bisla’s gutsy 89 off 48 balls and Kallis’s classy 69 off 49 balls. With the amazing victory Gautam Gambhit became the first captain to clinch a trophyfor KKR.

IPL 2013 Winner: Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians (MI) won IPL 2013 by 23 runs defeating Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

IPL 2014 Winner: Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won IPL 2014 by 3 wickets defeating Punjab Kings (PKBS).

IPL 2015 Winner: Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians (MI) won IPL 2015 by 41 runs defeating Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

IPL 2016 Winner: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SH) won IPL 2016 by 8 runs defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

IPL 2017 Winner: Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians (MI) won IPL 2017 by 1 run defeating Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS).

IPL 2018 Winner: Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won IPL 2018 by 8 wickets defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

IPL 2019 Winner: Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians (MI) won IPL 2019 by 1 run defeating Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

IPL 2020 Winner: Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians (MI) won IPL 2020 by 5 wickets defeating Delhi Capitals (DC).

IPL 2021 Winner: Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won IPL 2021 by 27 runs defeating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

IPL 2022 Winner: Gujrat Titans

Gujrat Titans (GT) won IPL 2022 by 7 wickets defeating Rajasthan Royals (RR).

IPL 2023 Winner : CSK

Chennai Super Kings(CSK) won IPL 2023 by 4 wickets against Gujrat Titans(GT).

Who is the Winner of IPL 2023?

Chennai Super Kings(CSK) is the latest winner of iPL 2023 session.

Which team won IPL Season most of the time?

Mumbai Indians (MI) & Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the IPL 5 times which is the most by a team.

How many times has Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has won the IPL?

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has won the IPL 5 times.

Which team has become the runners-up in the IPL most times?

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has become the most IPL runners-up, 5 times.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: