Most Wickets in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Most Wickets in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, India’s premier domestic T20 tournament, has seen some remarkable cricketing moments and standout performances over the years. Established in the 2006-07 season, it initially began as the Inter-State T20 Championship, with 27 Ranji teams divided into five zones. It was later renamed the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. In the first edition of the SMAT, Indian cricketer Rohit Sharma made history by scoring the first T20 century by an Indian, showcasing the talent that would later make him a cricketing legend.

Throughout its history, the SMAT has witnessed extraordinary bowling spells that have changed the course of matches. Bowlers have been the unsung heroes, battling for their teams, delivering memorable performances, and showcasing their skills in this exciting T20 format. The tournament has been a platform for cricketers to shine and make their mark, offering fans thrilling moments that have contributed to the growing popularity of T20 cricket in India. In this article we will feature the top bowlers with most wickets in the history.

Most Wickets in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Check out bowlers with Most Wickets in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy –

Siddarth Kaul

Siddarth Kaul, representing Punjab in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, has established himself as a prominent bowler in the T20 format. With an impressive record of 108 wickets from 79 matches, Kaul has consistently delivered exceptional performances. His best bowling figures of 5/12 demonstrate his ability to decimate the opposition’s batting line-up effectively. Kaul’s remarkable bowling average of 18.04 underlines his consistency and knack for picking up crucial wickets at pivotal moments. 

Piyush Chawla

Piyush Chawla, who has represented both Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, has exhibited his leg-spin ability with a total of 108 wickets in 82 matches. Chawla’s best bowling figures of 4/28 showcase his ability to create breakthroughs and apply pressure on the opposition. With a commendable bowling average of 19.25, he has consistently been a valuable asset for his teams in the T20 format. 

Jaydev Unadkat

Jaydev Unadkat, a notable figure in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, has featured in 67 matches and delivered an impressive total of 101 overs. With a best bowling performance of 4/5, Unadkat has displayed his ability to take crucial wickets and maintain a remarkable economy rate. His average of 17.11 indicates his consistency in providing breakthroughs for his team.  

CV Milind

CV Milind, with 61 matches and 89 wickets under his belt in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, has showcased his proficiency as a bowler. His 5/8 as the best bowling performance reflects his capability to take critical wickets and create pressure on the opposition. With an average of 18.82, he maintains consistency and contributes significantly to his team’s success. 

Lukman Meriwala

Lukman Meriwala, with 55 matches and 88 wickets in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, has consistently proven himself as a formidable bowler. His remarkable 5/8, which stands as his best bowling performance, showcases his ability to take crucial wickets and have a significant impact on the game. With an astonishingly low average of 14.96, Meriwala has been a nightmare for opposing batsmen, consistently troubling them with his pace and variations.

List of Top 10 Most Wickets in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 

1Siddarth Kaul79791085/1218.04
2Piyush Chawla82821084/2819.25
3Jaydev Unadkat67671014/517.11
4CV Milind 6160895/818.82
5Lukman Meriwala5554885/814.96
6Aniket Choudhary 6868884/3019.73
7Amit Mishra 7069845/1919.35
8Ankit Rajpoot 5858815/1717.88
9Rishi Dhawan 7874806/2322.37
10PP Jaswal 5655755/1817.77

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top