Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy winners

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Winners List

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, named after former Indian test cricketer, Syed Mushtaq Ali, is a domestic T20 cricket tournament organised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India and it is played among all the Ranji Trophy teams. The first season was held in the year 2006-07 with Tamil Nadu winning the inaugural cup under the Captaincy of Dinesh Karthik and the current Captain of the Indian cricket team, Rohit Sharma, became the first Indian to score a century in the T20 format while playing for Maharashtra in the first season of the tournament. Let dip into Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Winners List through this article.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Winners List

The 2nd season of the highly demanded tournament , Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy was conquered by Maharashtra in 2009-10, followed by Bengal in 2010-11 under skipper Manoj Tiwary.

With T20 cricket being introduced at the international stage in 2005, the setting up of a domestic T20 tournament within India was an outstanding move by the BCCI. The immense cricketing pool of the country started to get familiar with the format right from the ground up and this helped in the necessary shift in a cricketer’s approach while playing the shortest format of the game.

With India winning the first T20 World Cup in 2007, the interest and love for the format started to peak within the country and this, in turn, led to the BCCI holding India’s own cricketing premier league in the T20 format in the form of IPL in 2008. Apart from the top class international players giving in their names for the auction pool of the most successful cricketing league of the world, an opportunity also rose for the domestic cricketers performing well in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to get in the squads with their cricketing heroes

With 38 teams playing the tournament currently in its 15th season, these teams are divided into five Elite groups; groups A, B and C having eight teams each and groups D and E having seven teams each.

The winners of all the groups will automatically qualify for the quarterfinals while the five second-placed teams and an overall 11th ranked team will compete for the remaining three quarterfinal spots in the preliminary quarterfinals. With eight teams qualifying for the quarterfinals, a knockout stage will begin to decide the ultimate winner of the tournament.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Winners List

2006-07Tamil NaduPunjab
2010-11Bengal Madhya Pradesh
2013-14BarodaUttar Pradesh
2014-15Gujarat Punjab
2015-16Uttar PradeshBaroda
2016-17East ZoneCentral Zone
2019-20KarnatakaTamil Nadu
2020-21Tamil NaduBaroda
2021-22Tamil Nadu Karnataka

The Tournament was not held in the 2007-08 and 2008-09 seasons.

Who has won the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy most times?

Tamil Nadu has won 3 times

What is the highest team Score in SMAT? 

Karnataka scored 250/3 against services in 2019.

What is the lowest Team Score in Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy?

Tripura scored 30/10 against Jharkhand in 2009. 

Who has the highest Individual Score in SMAT?

Shreyas Iyer scored 147 playing for Maharashtra against Sikkim in 2019.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: