Vijay Hazare Trophy Winners List

Vijay Hazare Trophy Winners List

The Vijay Hazare Trophy, named after the legendary Indian test cricketer, Vijay Hazare, is a one-day cricket championship of the Indian domestic cricket circuit. Also referred to as the Ranji One-Day Trophy, it is played among the teams playing in the Ranji Trophy. Currently, a total of 38 teams take part in the cup with Tamil Nadu being the most successful team of the championship having won the title 5 times including the inaugural edition of the tournament. Let’s check out Vijay Hazare Trophy Winners List in this article.

Tamil Nadu own Vijay Hazare Trophy 5 times which is most Vijay Hazare Title winning by a team.

The Vijay Hazare Trophy has seen numerous changes to its fixture formats just like the other domestic cricket championships. Till the 2014-15 season, the 28 participating teams used to be divided into five zones – North, South, East, West and Central. The group or the zonal stage was then followed by the knockout stage of the tournament. 

The current format, however, divides the 38 teams into five Elite Groups having six teams each and one Plate Group having the remaining eight teams. A round robin fixture is conducted within these groups wherein the table toppers of the five elite groups secure their spots in the quarterfinals and the second positioned teams in the five elite groups and the topper of the plate group contest for the remaining three spots in the preliminary quarterfinals. A knockout stage from here on determines the winner of the championship.

Himachal Pradesh being the latest to enter the List of Winners of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, let us take a look at how different teams have fared in the prestigious List-A tournament. 

Vijay Hazare Trophy Winners List

Season WinnerRunner-Up
2002-03Tamil NaduPunjab
2004-05Tamil Nadu & Uttar PradeshNA
2005-06RailwaysUttar Pradesh
2006-07Mumbai Rajasthan
2008-09Tamil Nadu Bengal
2009-10Tamil NaduBengal
2016-17Tamil Nadu Bengal
2019-20KarnatakaTamil Nadu
2020-21MumbaiUttar Pradesh
2021-22Himachal PradeshTamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu has won the trophy 5 times which is the most by any team and is followed by Karnataka and Mumbai with 4 titles each Karnataka and Tamil Nadu are the only two teams in the history of the tournament to win the trophy for two consecutive years. 

The 2022-23 Vijay Hazare Trophy was won by Saurashtra by defeating Maharashtra in the final in Ahmedabad. Saurashtra’s wicket-keeper batter Sheldon Jackson’s unbeaten 133 powered Suarashtra to win their 2nd title after 15 long years.

The 2004-05 season of the cup saw two winners in the form of Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh as the final between the two resulted in a tie.

FAQ’s on Vijay Hazare Trophy Winners List

Who won the Vijay Hazare Trophy most of the time?

Tamil Nadu won Vijay Hazare Trophy 5 times which is the most Vijay Hazare Title won by a team.

Who has the Most runs in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy?

Yashpal Singh made 3193 runs which is the highest by anyone in Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Who has the Most runs in a single season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy?

Prithvi Shaw scored 827 runs in the 2020-21 season which is the highest in a single season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Who has the Highest individual score in an inning of the Vijay Hazare trophy?

Prithvi Shaw made 227 runs against Puducherry in the 2020-21 season of the Vijay Hazare trophy.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: