Most Wins In IPL As Captain

Most Wins As Captain In IPL

The captain plays a very important role in every match in cricket. A captain’s decision can make and break a match. The captain takes many decisions like bowling changes, fielding changes, batting position sets, deciding batting or fielding after the toss, etc. A good skipper always takes the blame on him after losing a game and always credits his teammates after winning a match. And selecting a precise playing 11 by recognizing the good players is also his job. In IPL we have seen many captains but very few could make a mark at the top positions. 

MS Dhoni

Former Indian and Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni has played the most number of matches 210 as a captain and has won 123 matches with a win percentage of 58.85. Under Dhoni’s leadership, CSK has worn the crown four times (2010,2011, 2018 & 2021). CSK has played 12 play-offs with the help of the amazing captainship of MS Dhoni. So Dhoni has the most wins as captain in IPL.

Rohit Sharma

The most successful Captain of the IPL has been Rohit Sharma. He has led Mumbai Indians in 143 matches and has enjoyed victory in 7 matches. Rohit’s win percentage is the highest (56.54) among captains. Mumbai Indians became champions for the first time in 2013 and after that, they won it 4 more times (2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020). Fans were aware that Rohit is a destructive opener but later he demonstrated his incredible captaincy skills and became the best captain of the IPL. 

Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir has played as a captain 129 times and has taken his team home 71 times with an impressive win percentage of 55.42. KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) has worn the crown of IPL two times (2012 &2014) during Gambhir’s captaincy. KKR couldn’t win the trophy for 4 years but at last Gambhir’s leadership made a difference and they conquered it for the first time in 2012.

Virat Kohli

In terms of matches, RCB and current Indian team captain Virat Kohli has led RCB in 140 matches and won 64 matches (48.16). But unfortunately, Royal Challengers Bangalore is yet to be the champion of the IPL. The most premium batting lineup in IPL has not been lucky yet. Even after being the highest run-getter in IPL history (6624), Kohli doesn’t have an IPL crown.

Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist has won the 5th most number of matches (35) as a captain in 74 matches. His win percentage (47.29) is commendable. In the 2nd IPL season, Gilchrist led his Deccan Chargers to wear the crown.

David Warner

David Warner has a win percentage of 52.17, in the IPL for Sunrisers Hyderabad as he has won 35 matches out of 69 matches. He has always led from the front and made the team champion in 2016. Warner has proved to be the most valuable foreign player in IPL with 5881 runs in 162 matches, which is 3rd most by any player in IPL history.

Shane Warne

Shane Warne is the first captain to win the IPL in 2008. For Rajasthan Royals, he has won 30 matches out of 55 at an admirable win percentage of 55.45.

Let’s have a look at the list of Most Wins as Captain In IPL

Captain Matches Wins LossDraw No Results Win Percentage 
MS Dhoni204121820158.85
Rohit Sharma14379604056.64
Gautam Gambhir 12971571055.42
Virat Kohli14064693448.16
Adam Gilchrist7435390047.29
David Warner 6935322052.17
Shane Warne 5530241055.45
Sachin Tendulkar5130210058.82
Virender Sehwag5328241053.77
Shreyas Iyer5527262050.90
Who has won the most games in IPL as captain?

MS Dhoni has won the most games in IPL as captain, with 121 wins.

How many matches Virat Kohli has won in IPL as captain?

Virat Kohli has won 58 matches as captain in IPL.

Who has the highest win percentage in IPL as captain?

MS Dhoni has the highest win percentage in IPL as captain, 58.85.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: