Ashes Winners List from 1882

Ashes Winners List from 1882 to 2023

The Ashes is one of the most iconic and historic Test cricket series played between England and Australia. Ashes series began after England’s first-ever defeat on home soil to Australia at The Oval in 1882. The publication of a satirical obituary in The Sporting Times, stating that English cricket had died and its ashes were to be taken to Australia, added a sense of humour and drama to the series, leading to the name “The Ashes”. In this article we have listed the whole Ashes winner list from 1882 to present.

Over the years, The Ashes has witnessed numerous enthralling contests, memorable performances, and intense battles between the two cricketing powerhouses. Both England and Australia have enjoyed periods of dominance, and their ability to win The Ashes repeatedly highlights their cricketing prowess and competitive spirit.

The rivalry between England and Australia in The Ashes has produced some of cricket’s most legendary players and moments. Players like Sir Donald Bradman, Sir Ian Botham, Shane Warne, and many others have etched their names in Ashes history with their exceptional performances.

England last won the Ashes in 2015, while Australia are the holders of the Ashes after winning the previous edition 4-0 in front of their home fans in 2022.

Ashes Winners List from 1882 to 2023

Here, is the complete list of Ashes Winners since 1882 –

1882-83England2-1 (3)Australia
1884England1-0 (3)England
1884-85England3-2 (5)Australia
1886England3-0 (3)England
1886-87England2-0 (3)Australia
1887-88England1-0 (1)Australia
1888England2-1 (3)England
1890England2-0 (2)England
1891-92Australia2-1 (3)Australia
1893England1-0 (3)England
1894-95England3-2 (5)Australia
1896England2-1 (3)England
1897-98Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1899Australia1-0 (5)England
1901-02Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1902Australia2-1 (5)England
1903-04England3-2 (5)Australia
1905England2-0 (5)England
1907-08Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1909Australia2-1 (5)England
1911-1912England4-1 (5)Australia
1912England1-0 (3)England
1920-21Australia5-0 (5)Australia
1921Australia3-0 (5)England
1924-25Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1926England1-0 (5)England
1928-29England4-1 (5)Australia
1930Australia2-1 (5)England
1932-33England4-1 (5)Australia
1934Australia2-1 (5)England
1936-37Australia3-2 (5)Australia
1938Draw1-1 (4)England
1946-47Australia3-0 (5)Australia
1948Australia4-0 (5)England
1950-51Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1953England1-0 (5)England
1954-55England3-1 (5)Australia
1956England2-1 (5)England
1958-59Australia4-0 (5)Australia
1961Australia2-1 (5)England
1962-63Draw1-1 (5)Australia
1964Australia1-0 (5)England
1965-66Draw1-1 (5)Australia
1968Draw1-1 (5)England
1970-71England2-0 (7)Australia
1972Draw2-2 (5)England
1974-75Australia4-1 (6)Australia
1975Australia1-0 (4)England
1977England3-0 (5)England
1978-79England5-1 (6)Australia
1981England3-1 (6)England
1982-83Australia2-1 (5)Australia
1985England3-1 (6)England
1986-87England2-1 (5)Australia
1989Australia4-0 (6)England
1990-91Australia3-0 (5)Australia
1993Australia4-1 (6)England
1994-95Australia3-1 (5)Australia
1997Australia3-2 (6)England
1998-99Australia3-1 (5)Australia
2001Australia4-1 (5)England
2002-03Australia4-1 (5)Australia
2005England2-1 (5)England
2006-07Australia5-0 (5)Australia
2009England2-1 (5)England
2010-11England3-1 (5)Australia
2013England3-0 (5)England
2013-14Australia5-0 (5)Australia
2015England3-2 (5)England
2017-18Australia4-0 (5)Australia
2019Draw2-2 (5)England
2022Australia4-0 (5)Australia
2023Draw2-2 (5)England

Overall Ashes Records

England won the Ashes series 32 times whereas Australia won Ashes series 34 times and 7 series ended in a draw. 


The rivalry between England and Australia is something that excites fans and brings out the best in both teams, making it one of the most prolific and cherished series in world cricket.

The series not only captivates fans from England and Australia but also grabs the attention of cricket enthusiasts from around the world. The competitive spirit, raw emotions, and high-quality cricket on display make it a must-watch event for any cricket lover.
It is not just a cricketing contest but a battle of pride and prestige between two cricketing powerhouses.

who won the ashes 2023

Ashes 2023 final result went draw at 2-2. England own the last match & draw the series.

How many times England won Ashes ?

England won the Ashes series 32 times.

How many times Australia won Ashes ?

Australia won the Ashes series 34 times.


Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: